I’d like to take some time out of my night to talk about something that is very near and dear to my heart: Cereal. It is currently 1:25 am and I am laying in bed very satisfied. Wow. That doesn’t sound right, does it?… The REASON I am satisfied, you dirty minded people, is because I just had an amazing late-night snack of cereal. I am probably the biggest supporter of cereal that you will ever meet. Why, you may ask, do I like cereal so much? I propose to you a better question: Why don’t you?

Let’s get the obvious fact out of the way first. Cereal is delicious. I defy anyone to try every cereal in the cereal isle of a grocery store and tell me that they dislike them all. Which leads me to my next point, the selection of cereal is so widespread. If you get tired of one, you can simply move on to the next one. This way you can feel like Jay-Z in at least ONE aspect of your life…Get it? Cause of Jay-Z’s song “On the the next one”…I’m SO funny. ANYWAYS, so you have your sugary cereals, your “healthier” (but still delicious cereals) and then your more plain cereals which can be topped with fruit and made delicious too. What’s not to like? Seriously?

Now, on to the matter of nutrition. There is a misconception that cereal is extremely unhealthy. Of course this conclusion requires a benchmark of what is considered healthy. Let’s do a comparison, shall we? Even though it is not, let’s assume for the sake of this comparison that cereal is strictly a breakfast food. Now also for this comparison, I’ll use a cereal that is thought by many to be unhealthy. Fruit loops. Okay, so we’ll now compare cereal to other breakfast foods. Let’s start off by comparing cereal to bread. One serving of Fruit Loops with milk (cause if you eat cereal without milk you’re just wack) is about 170 calories. To contrast, one slice of bread (healthy Dempster’s “Ancient Grain” bread) is 120 calories. Keep in mind, this is bread alone. With nothing on top of it. When butter, margarine, jam, peanut butter, or any other topping is placed upon it, this bread usually gains another 30 calories at least. I submit, is one serving of cereal and milk not at least 5 times more filling than one slice of bread? And for only 20 calories less? I pick the cereal every time. And let’s be honest, the majority of people don’t choose the healthier Ancient Grain bread. So, in that case, the bread that we compare it to is even more unhealthy. Sure, fruit loops is more sugary than bread but if you have a problem with sugar levels, you can always choose one of the healthier/more plain cereal options available.

Now, what are some other breakfast foods that people eat? Bacon/Sausage? Forget about it. Heart attacks waiting to happen. Pancakes/Waffles/French Toast? Cereal wins again. I don’t even need to provide proof there. It’s just intuitive. Which leaves us with eggs. Eggs have their own problems, high cholesterol, people eat them fried, etc…People don’t JUST eat eggs, either. Not in my experience, at least. They eat eggs with toast (again with the bread). Now, I know this isn’t health related…but this must ALSO be considered. Preparation time is one huge benefit that cereal offers over eggs (or any of the items I just mentioned). Now, it’s not like these items take 4 hours to make. But then again, they don’t take 5 seconds like cereal, do they? In terms of breakfast foods, cereal is the clear victor

Now let’s relax the assumption that cereal is simply a breakfast food. This is far too simplified of an assumption to make for a realistic analysis. In fact, cereal can be enjoyed as a snack at any time of the day. Obviously it’s not as healthy as fruits or vegetables…But as far as a snack goes, it’s fairly healthy. What do people usually eat as snacks? Chips? Sandwiches? Dare I get into pastries like pop tarts and baked goods such as muffins? Let’s face it people, cereal simply comes out on top.

Now, am I a hero for writing this? Well, it depends on how you define “hero.” If you’re referring to the firefighters who save lives and run into burning buildings, then no. But, if we’re talking about someone who informs the masses about vital information that they need to know, then yes. I don’t want to take the credit though. The real heroes are the good cereal companies like Kellogs, General Mills, and Post. They deserve all the credit. Keep making the world a better place with your creations.

-hiiwiip

